What would be your 9-5 if you NEVER got paid for it?

I was thinking this morning about something that I wrote back in November 2008 about finding my true passion and talent in life. It’s rather interesting that I wrote this 2 years ago and now I have a blog about finding what your talents are….coincidence? I think not! I wanted to share this with you as a stepping stone to finding out what your talents and aspirations are in life.  I have a treat for you in the next few blogs about how to find out what your talents are step by step if you are not exactly sure of what they are! Keep reading the blogs, it will be worth it!

November 2008

Let’s just say that I am HAPPY that I have found out what God’s will over my life is. He has sent me thru some VERY hard times growing up, and I really see what all of it was for. It molded me into who I am today, and is making me into this passionate woman who has a love for children and their needs. I have always know what I wanted to do in life, but did I know that God’s will for me and my passion line up?? Not at all….it was like a light that went off…and I want to do His will so much because I know that I will be happy!!Some people live God’s will because God provided them with the talent, and they do it,and perhaps is not all that thrilled with it, but I can say that I am thrilled that I LOVE what he has placed in me!!!I can’t say that I have not been one of the folks who was ‘happy’ with my career choice, but I can say that time has passed, I have snapped out of the “American Dream” of chasing money, and I am chasing my CAREER. Chasing your career will allow you to bloom and excel at what you do because you have a passion for it, therefore bringing the money automatically. As the road blocks have been set for me to get my career, you better believe that I am NOT giving up on the gifts and talents that God has placed in me for the community to use.

I said this to say, do what YOU want to do in life, follow YOUR dreams, and be TRUE to yourself. We all say that yes we do what we want to do, and yes we are in control of our lives, but we are also in control of where we are right now too. Are you where you want to be? Have you been living YOUR life because it is what you love rather than for the money or the status? Keep in mind that sometimes we become who are right now because we are afraid of what we will be in the future. We play it safe because we are afraid that our goals may be delayed or it takes too much to get there. Only to realize years later that our dreams were delayed because we were thinking for right now rather than for our future. Think about this:

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that    we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.–Nelson Mandela 1994 inaugural speech.

This is VERY true, think about your happiness and what you could do for someone else when you are truly happy with your career choices, impact another’s life because of your passion. Don’t be satisfied with where you are now if you are not happy, take the steps to progress to the person you want to be, NO MATTER WHAT IT TAKES OR LOOKS LIKE TO OTHERS!!!

*My students & I @ College Summit 2009*

My 9-5 would be a community activist for children who have been sexually, mentally, and physically abused, along with helping children realize their dreams of who they want to be in life thru education, what would be your 9-5?

I know the question is burning inside of you!*image by Google*

So the question still stands today 2 years later…what would be your 9-5 if you NEVER got paid for it? *it’s not a rhetorical question, please leave your comments*

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leslie
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 12:33:23

    My 9-5 would be helping restore the divine purpose of marriages and familes that impact the world. Its easy to get married and have a family. Its takes God and work to impact those around you by doing the daily work needed to be a healthy marriage or family..It’s Sacred.

    Love the post!

    Reply

  2. minilaptop410
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 10:33:59

    My 9-5 would be an audio engineer, which i do currently do without getting paid, life of a college kid lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

